Sorrow

The sweet smell of a great sorrow lies over the land
Plumes of smoke rise and merge into the leaden sky:
A man lies and dreams of green fields and rivers,
But awakes to a morning with no reason for waking

There are a number of typical reasons why people stop writing and posting, and usually everyone will say they have a very personal reason to add to that. I am no exception.

Perhaps the biggest one was the death of 2 close friends, in the same week. Then, the fact that I am waiting for a couple of publishers to be kind enough to pay me. Yes, it is surely a gesture of kindness: endless emails asking me to finish the work urgently, phone calls on Saturdays and Sundays (because of course a freelancer works for you 24/7) and after all the books are published and launched, I am sure they don’t find any reason to pay me other than kindness or some sort of sympathy. Then the usual lack of respect I get from people that ask me to “help them” with posters and various designs.

Nobody said this job was easy. I deal the best that I can with commissions, publishers. But sometimes I struggle to find the motivation to give my time to people outside that circle and their projects, when it is clear they don’t give a damn about anything but your skills. I don’t include my designs for sport clubs on this sentence. All of them are fantastic and never forget to credit me. A simple thing, to credit.

As there are good news in the middle of this, recently I got more commissions and they have also kept me busy. Nevertheless, I am still a bit disappointed. Chasing publishers to pay is a hard task, both mentally and financially. And the end result is one losing the trust we should build our work relationships upon.

A month or so ago, this post appeared in my twitter. And I´ll just leave a few thoughts here:

“Freelance workers, in particular, are often treated as disposable assets, either because their skills aren’t valued or because management think that there’s an indefinite supply to replace those who move on”

“Nothing puts suppliers off more than being treated as an optional extra, a disposable tool to be exploited and discarded. Instead, find ways to make your freelancers and contractors part of your team”

I could and I should write more about this article but honestly, I rather focus on the work at hand. I am not aware how many people read this, and after all, it does not matter anyway. I am sharing thoughts knowing this does not change nothing – the only change is that I am less and less willing to help anyone with posters, designs and stuff.

Eventually I will write more here as time goes by.

One comment

Leave a Reply

