An Open Letter to Joelle Fraser

Ben Garrido's Author Page

Joelle Fraser is a memiorist and (soon to be) novelist. She has been published by Random House and Counterpoint Press to critical acclaim. She is also my editor. This interview will cover her first book, “The Territory of Men.” The Territory of Men follows a young Joelle as her mother bounces from man to man to man. On the surface, this is her mother’s search for enlightenment and equality but, in my opinion, it is also the story of a woman looking for a man to impose identity on her. The book plays on the tensions between women’s lib, the appeal of bad men and childhood. 

SIL

Dear Joelle,

I mean this in the most positive possible way, but reading your book disquieted me.  The reason, I think, why your book had this effect on me has to do with my continuing and, as yet largely unsuccessful, quest to figure out…

View original post 1,306 more words

Leave a Reply

